I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day

For my final installment of this years Christmas videos, I have chosen “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day.”

Based on a Henry Wadsworth Longfellow poem, written in 1863.  Longfellow wrote the poem on Christmas day after a year in which his son was severely injured in the civil war and his second wife was killed in a fire (he had also lost his first wife years earlier.)

Jeez, I thought I had a tough year.

I’ve listen to many performances of this song. From Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra to one of the most recent versions by Echosmith (a worthy rendition). For me, none compare to this live performance by the Casting Crowns during a 2008 TBN Christmas Special.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment