#Throwback Thursday: John Pinette “On a diet” or I’d kill for a doughnut

It’s been two weeks since my last throwback Thursday post. At the time, I was getting ready to enjoy the Hoboken Italian festival and I did.

Now for those of you who do not know, I have dedicated Thursdays as a day to stray away from my usual topic of politics and discuss how I deal with some of the daily challenges of back problems and chronic pain.

I have mentioned that I use music and laughter to help combat this situation, but obviously it takes more.

Nutrition and exercise are invaluable tools. A lot of people don’t want to hear that but it’s true. In general, diets are a bad thing if it is something you cannot maintain as a lifestyle. The same goes for daily exercise. It is vital to find a routine that you can fit into your life…. DAILY. How many people join a gym and then quit after a few weeks? Usually, it’s because they start off intense and find they just can’t keep it up. The key is to start slowly and build yourself up not tear yourself down. For those of us with chronic pain, exercise is the most difficult thing to maintain, but for people with back problems it is vital.

This is where I have to remind people not to start exercises without first consulting a medical professional, especially if your older or extremely overweight.

As for me, I have my daily exercise routines and a nutritional lifestyle that permits me to enjoy some “bad” food from time to time. I never feel deprived….

Well, almost never.

What I also like to do about twice a year, for a six week cycle, is ramp up the exercise and go strict with my diet. Where my normal routine is 30-45 minutes four times a week, my ramp up phase is 1.5- 2 hrs.  five times a week. You can see how that is not maintainable as a lifestyle, but it is how I challenge myself. In the end, that’s the key to maintaining your exercise routine: you have to find something challenging, it prevents boredom from taking you out of your workouts.

Currently, I’m in the second week of my six week cycle and I have all the aches and pains that go with it and as I said I would kill for a doughnut.

A Boston cream doughnut, with chocolate sprinkles on top.

Today, instead of music I’m going to use laughter as my weapon. Over the years John Pinette has been one of my favorite comedians and I was quite sad when he passed away in April at the young age of 50. He lost his personal battle, I’m grateful for his humor in helping me battle mine:

 

This entry was posted in humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

