#throwback Thursday: Frank Sinatra “I’m gonna live till I die” or the Hoboken Italian Festival begins today!

As is my relatively new custom, Thursday I abandon all politics, share a song from the past and reveal a little something more about myself.

This is the part I am uncomfortable about. I don’t like talking about myself.

Oh I have an opinion about almost everything, ranging from how awful the latest episode professional wrestling’s, sorry “sports entertainment,” Monday Night Raw was to America’s current foreign policy crises.

I’m versatile.

But I don’t like talking about myself.

I’m being prompted to do so because like millions of others I suffer from chronic pain. My pain is caused from spinal cord damage and it is something I have contended with for 20 years. I don’t like writing/talking about it because I do not wish to be defined by it. Perhaps, as some say, this is selfish since there are many who may learn from my methods and help them with their own battles. As they say, “If you can help just one person..”

For me my two greatest weapons are laughter and music…

Then there’s food, but you have to be careful with food. The waistline cannot be allowed to expand, but that’s not a concern this weekend, because its the Hoboken Italian festival!

This weekend I get to indulge. Now, I’ll be honest my concept of indulging is to take a bite of something.  That wasn’t always the case. In my younger years, I had no problem scoffing down numerous sausage and pepper sandwiches, a few beers and cannolis.

Finally, last but not least….the zeppoles.

As I have grown older and wiser, I’ve learned none of those things make you feel good and, quite frankly, can increase your pain levels.

While I may not indulge like I use to, I still love this festival. The smell of food in the air, the live concerts, the many women walking around in shorts…

Uh, I didn’t mean to write that.

There seems to be a gremlin in my keyboard and

I

Just

Can’t

Seem to

Delete it.

I better just keep moving forward, it doesn’t matter when this song was recorded and it doesn’t matter that I’ve posted it before a couple of years ago, it’s one of my favorites.

After all, man does not live on bread, politics and cannolis alone:

This entry was posted in humor, politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #throwback Thursday: Frank Sinatra “I’m gonna live till I die” or the Hoboken Italian Festival begins today!

  1. Pingback: #ThrowbackThursday Emo Phillips or I need a good laugh to keep me warm | T.B Rickert's Call

Leave a Reply

