December 7, 1941

It was 72 years ago today, when Pear Harbor was bombed by Japan.

As I watched this video of President Roosevelt’s declaration of war given the next day, I find myself filled with a certain profound sadness.

I honestly believe that if a similar attack occurred today, America could not, no would not, win.

It would cost too much, it would be too difficult, there would be too much death and lord knows someone’s right would be trampled on somewhere.

As I listen to Roosevelt’s  “date of infamy” speech, I cannot help but recognize that we are not the same nation of people we were back then.

Imagine what would happen today if anything remotely similar to Operation Tiger happened.

Yes, I’m actually going to make you click the link to know what Operation Tiger was if you don’t know it.

This is not about the men and women who serve in our military, they are unique in their devotion and commitment, it is those who would be called on to support those troops I question.

Can you see the United States home front sacrificing now the way they did back then?

Perhaps I’m just in a particularly cynical mood, but I just can’t see this nation having the will to storm Okinawa or Normandy beach in this day and age. Heck you know someone would file a lawsuit just for the prayer that would be given before the action.

Yes, I’m being sarcastic……sort of.

Anyway, here is the famous “a date that will live in infamy speech”

And I’ll go and try  to improve my attitude.

This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

