And once more….Another completely self-indulgent post

It’s Sunday again and I thought I would have some fun today.

A couple of weeks ago society was shocked.

Not by any geo-political event.

No, Miley Cyrus decided to announce to the world…uh, Okay, I’m not sure what she was trying to announce to the world.

Over the years I have made it a point to watch the Disney channel as a means of keeping track of the likes and dislikes of younger generations and allowing me to buy those members of my family the cool gifts for Christmas. My reaction to her performance was more along these lines:

wtf

This was clearly a case of being shocking for the sake of being shocking.

To be honest, I don’t think people were shocked by its vulgarity. Let’s face a fact, we see similar images all the time on television. I think the shocking part was the performer’s complete lack of  talent and originality.

Victor Davis Hanson wrote I think the best piece on the performance titled: “Miley Cyrus and Ugly Sex”

She also accomplished in live performance a grotesqueness that once required animation and, later, computer simulation — constructing a spooky female villain behaving as repugnantly as she appeared. Out jumped onto the MTV stage a rare female orc, or a weird androgynous concoction from Frank Miller’s Sin City. For us old guys, Miley Cyrus almost seemed like one of the 1960s Dynamation villain serpents conjured up by Ray Harryhausen in his Sinbad or Jason movies.

A 1960 villain…Hmmm.

What if…

I know.

I’ll let the crew of the USS Enterprise deal with Miley. After all, it has ben awhile since I let my Trek geek out to play:

And here I thought there was nothing they couldn’t handle.

This entry was posted in humor, politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

