Pondering Syria

I do not have much to say about whether I think the President should launch a military strike against Syria.

He has left himself no options.

Correction, he has left himself no acceptable options.

Let me be clear, this mess belongs solely to President Obama.

Only 9% of Americans approve of US military action in Syria.

I know it doesn’t matter that in 2008 Barrack Obama had this to say about Presidential authority regarding military action:

The President does not have power under the Constitution to unilaterally authorize a military attack in a situation that does not involve stopping an actual or imminent threat to the nation

Nor does it matter in 2007 Senator Joe Biden threatened impeachment against President Bush:

I drafted and outline of what I think the constitutional limits have on the president in over the war clause. I went to five leading scholars, constitutional scholars, and they drafted a treatise for me, and it’s being distributed to every senator. And I want to make it clear and I made it clear to the president, if he takes this nation to war in Iran, without congressional approval — I will make it my business to impeach him.

I suppose I could go on another rant about President Obama’s record of ignoring laws.

But like I said before, lately I’m just ranted out.

In 2008, the President offered hope. Now hope is all I have left.

I’m hoping a miracle will happen and this thing does not blow up and turn into a full regional conflict.

For the first time, I’m afraid of what might happen.

Not just in the Middle East, but here in America too.

136614_600

This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pondering Syria

  1. This is going to get ugly, partner.
    No question about it.

    And yeah, …I’m afraid, too.

    • Bret Rickert says:

      Yep, JTR, there are a lot of nervous people living around these tunnels going into NYC. We always get a little spooked heading toward 9/11 around here. I think the malls in the area are going to have a little less business this weekend.

Leave a Reply

