From the sequester and the Oscars to gun control

Ah Sunday! That day I dedicate to laughter.

It’s a good thing too. There is a lot I could go on a rant about. From the President continued “misleading” about the sequester to the upcoming Oscars tonight. I have not been able to find the over/under on how long it will take for them to insult Republicans and demand the rich to pay their fair share. With Seth MacFarlane hosting, I’ll be stunned if it gets beyond the opening monologue. I wonder how many of those highly intellectual stars know about the tax breaks Hollywood receives as reported recently in the Wall Street Journal:

Of the nine “Best Picture” nominees in 2012, for example, five were filmed on location in states where the production company received financial incentives, including “The Help” (in Mississippi) and “Moneyball” (in California). Virginia gave $3.5 million to this year’s Oscar-nominated “Lincoln.”

Such state incentives are widespread, and often substantial, but they don’t do much to attract jobs. About $1.5 billion in tax credits and exemptions, grants, waived fees and other financial inducements went to the film industry in 2010, according to data analyzed by the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities. Politicians like to offer this largess because they get photo-ops with celebrities, but the economic payoff is minuscule. George Mason University’s Adam Thierer has called this “a growing cronyism fiasco” and noted that the number of states involved skyrocketed to 45 in 2009 from five in 2002.

Okay, that was my mini-rant, now let’s have some fun.

As I am sure most of you are aware our Vice-President, Uncle Joe, advised women to go buy a shotgun to defend themselves this week. Now, I’m not going to address the fact that shotguns are used more often in crime than assault weapons.

I know. By saying I’m not addressing it I have called attention to the fact and thereby actually addressed the issue.

I can’t throw one by any of you can I?

Here is an appropriate interpretation of the recent Biden Comments:

Get the shotgun

Finally, I’m going to leave you with this song by the Ballard Brothers titled: “Ban This Song”  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in humor, politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

