Remembering Challenger

challenger

Okay, I’m two days late on this post.

It was January 28, 1986. I can’t believe it was that long ago.

I remember it like it was yesterday. After all these years, I still cannot find the words that describe that disaster for me.

This leads me to one of Ronald Reagan’s greatest speeches. Because of how I felt that day, for me this is his greatest speech. To this day I still tear up at the phrase; “Slipped the surly bonds of earth to touch the face of God.

This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remembering Challenger

  1. Blog Raju says:

    Thank you for posting this. I remember that day so well, when I was just nine years old. I have always been a space enthusiast. I cried, seeing replays of the explosion of the television. The next year, I was reading Carl Sagan’s Cosmos.

  2. I was in college then, and yeah…I remember it all too well.

    Horrific day; great speech.
    Reagan had many great moments as President, but this was one of his finest.

    Thanks for honoring these American Heroes, Bret.

Leave a Reply

