“The deed is done, the doers undone”

house votes

As this fiasco unfolded last night, my mind kept going back to this line from Macbeth:

If it were done when ’tis done, then ’twere well
It were done quickly: if the assassination
Could trammel up the consequence, and catch
With his surcease success; that but this blow
Might be the be-all and the end-all here,
But here, upon this bank and shoal of time,
We’ld jump the life to come. But in these cases
We still have judgment here; that we but teach
Bloody instructions, which, being taught, return
To plague the inventor: this even-handed justice
Commends the ingredients of our poison’d chalice
To our own lips.

Okay…so I’m being melodramatic.

I just can’t help feeling like irreparable harm has been done to the country, it may take time to metastasize, but the pain will come.

Here is the roll call of who voted for and against the fiscal cliff deal.

I’m going to spend my day being disgusted.


Ackerman Alexander Altmire Andrews Baca Baldwin Barber Barletta Bass (CA) Bass (NH) Benishek Berkley Berman Biggert Bilbray Bishop (GA) Bishop (NY) Boehner Bonamici Bono Mack Boren Boswell Brady (PA) Brady (TX) Braley (IA) Brown (FL) Buchanan Butterfield Calvert Camp Capps Capuano Carnahan Carney Carson (IN) Castor (FL) Chandler Chu Cicilline Clarke (MI) Clarke (NY) Clay Cleaver Clyburn Coble Cohen Cole Connolly (VA) Conyers Costa Costello Courtney Crenshaw Critz Crowley Cuellar Cummings Curson (MI) Davis (CA) Davis (IL) DeGette DelBene Denham Dent Deutch Diaz-Balart Dicks Dingell Doggett Dold Donnelly (IN) Doyle Dreier Edwards Ellison Emerson Engel Eshoo Farr Fattah Fitzpatrick Fortenberry Frank (MA) Frelinghuysen Fudge Gallegly Garamendi Gerlach Gibson Gonzalez Green, Al Green, Gene Grijalva Grimm Gutierrez Hahn Hanabusa Hanna Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Hayworth Heck Heinrich Herger Herrera Beutler Higgins Himes Hinchey Hinojosa Hirono Hochul Holden Holt Honda Hoyer Israel Jackson Lee (TX) Johnson (GA) Johnson (IL) Johnson (OH) Johnson, E. B. Kaptur Keating Kelly Kildee Kind King (NY) Kinzinger (IL) Kissell Kline Kucinich Lance Langevin Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) LaTourette Latta Lee (CA) Levin Lipinski LoBiondo Loebsack Lofgren, Zoe Lowey Lucas Luetkemeyer Luján Lungren, Daniel E. Lynch Maloney Manzullo Marino Markey Matsui McCarthy (NY) McCollum McGovern McKeon McMorris Rodgers McNerney Meehan Meeks Michaud Miller (MI) Miller, Gary Miller, George Moore Murphy (CT) Murphy (PA) Nadler Napolitano Neal Noem Olver Owens Pallone Pascrell Pastor (AZ) Payne Pelosi Perlmutter Peters Pingree (ME) Pitts Platts Polis Price (NC) Quigley Rahall Rangel Reed Reichert Reyes Ribble Richardson Richmond Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Ros-Lehtinen Ross (AR) Rothman (NJ) Roybal-Allard Royce Runyan Ruppersberger Rush Ryan (OH) Ryan (WI) Sánchez, Linda T. Sanchez, Loretta Sarbanes Schakowsky Schiff Schock Schwartz Scott, David Serrano Sessions Sewell Sherman Shimkus Shuler Shuster Simpson Sires Slaughter Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Speier Stivers Sullivan Sutton Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tiberi Tierney Tonko Towns Tsongas Turner (NY) Upton Van Hollen Velázquez Walden Walz (MN) Wasserman Schultz Waters Watt Waxman Welch Wilson (FL) Womack Yarmuth Young (AK) Young (FL


Adams Aderholt Akin Amash Amodei Austria Bachmann Bachus Barrow Bartlett Barton (TX) Becerra Berg Bilirakis Bishop (UT) Black Blackburn Blumenauer Bonner Boustany Brooks Broun (GA) Bucshon Burgess Campbell Canseco Cantor Capito Carter Cassidy Chabot Chaffetz Coffman (CO) Conaway Cooper Cravaack Crawford Culberson DeFazio DeLauro DesJarlais Duffy Duncan (SC) Duncan (TN) Ellmers Farenthold Fincher Flake Fleischmann Fleming Flores Forbes Foxx Franks (AZ) Gardner Garrett Gibbs Gingrey (GA) Gohmert Goodlatte Gosar Gowdy Granger Graves (GA) Griffin (AR) Griffith (VA) Guinta Guthrie Hall Harper Harris Hartzler Hensarling Huelskamp Huizenga (MI) Hultgren Hunter Hurt Issa Jenkins Johnson, Sam Jones Jordan King (IA) Kingston Labrador Lamborn Landry Lankford Latham Long Lummis Mack Marchant Massie Matheson McCarthy (CA) McCaul McClintock McDermott McHenry McIntyre McKinley Mica Miller (FL) Miller (NC) Moran Mulvaney Myrick Neugebauer Nugent Nunes Nunnelee Olson Palazzo Paulsen Pearce Pence Peterson Petri Poe (TX) Pompeo Posey Price (GA) Quayle Rehberg Renacci Rigell Rivera Roby Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rohrabacher Rokita Rooney Roskam Ross (FL) Scalise Schilling Schmidt Schrader Schweikert Scott (SC) Scott (VA) Scott, Austin Sensenbrenner Smith (NE) Smith (WA) Southerland Stearns Stutzman Terry Tipton Turner (OH) Visclosky Walberg Walsh (IL) Webster West Westmoreland Whitfield Wilson (SC) Wittman Wolf Woodall Yoder Young (IN)

Not voted

Buerkle Burton (IN) Graves (MO) Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Paul Stark Woolsey
This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The deed is done, the doers undone”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s