Hello 2013!

The Senate began the year passing their solution to the fiscal cliff. I started the year by creating a twitter account, both will probably have the same positive impact on society and I’m certain my twitter account will have a less negative impact.  I will explore the world of twitter and  hope at some point  the message: “Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.” will be replaced by my account and everyone will get to see my first tweet: “Ok, I joined now what?” Before I do any exploring I thought I would give a quick review of my time blogging.

2011 was my first complete year of blogging in which I received about 77,000 views. A third of those views came from my post “8-1 the fourth amendment loses,” it remains to be my most viewed post. That post was indeed a blessing, but it fooled me into thinking it would always be that easy to get attention. In 2012, I am honored to have received about 230,000 views. Now, I know the Republican primary and the Presidential election helped drive people to visit my little section of the web and I don’t know how I’m going to top last year, but I’m going to give it my best shot.

It is difficult to a pick favorite post of the year. It’s human nature, I suppose, to choose the ones that were the most succesful, but two of my more succesful pieces for the year: “The irony of President Obama’s re-election argument”and “Why the President won re-election” would have been at the top of my favorite list regardless of their reception. Two posts: “Confirmed.. many college graduates are arrogantly stupid” and “Why blog?,”  that did not get a great reception are also on the top of my list for the year.

There are two post that have given me the biggest kicks, both were written in the first month of my journey back in June of 2010. “18 minutes I’ll never get back” was my reaction to the President’s speech about the BP oil spill. It quickly went into obscurity. Then for some reason, I cannot begin to fathom, it received major traffic from the yahoo message boards this year. A rather amazing development. My biggest thrill, however, comes from my fourth post; “Two dimensional thinking” every time the movie  “Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan” airs, I get traffic from google.

The best aspect of this blogging journey is every step has been a learning experience and I like learning new things.

I just wish I could remember the lessons better.

As I wrap up this post,  I see that my friend JTR over at Two Heads are Better Than One is welcoming me to the twitterverse. Thanks JTR!

And thank you to everyone who has endured my ramblings. Here’s to a better 2013!

This entry was posted in humor, politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello 2013!

  1. Holy cow, those numbers are awesome! I’ve been at this for 11 months and have only managed 10,500 views. Got any secrets you’d care to share on how to become more widely read?

Leave a Reply

