Something off topic

As most of you know, Sunday’s are my days to laugh. While I usually stick to political humor on Sunday, today I decided to show something different. I’ve been told when blogging you should, at times, reveal something about yourself.

Once again, I’m a quiet man.

I am. REALLY. Just ask anyone who knows me.

Of course, just because I’m a quiet man, doesn’t mean I don’t speak up when I have something to say. Unfortunately for some, I often have something to say. For me, the Harry Truman quote; “I don’t give them Hell. I just tell the truth about them and they think it’s Hell,” is very much a way of life.

But I am a quiet man.

Okay, back to the Sunday laugh. I have lived here in Hoboken, NJ, for more years than I am allowed to admit. Seriously, I’m not allowed to say. This is an edict from my one and only mother. I am not allowed to announce my age or any information where people can deduce; she didn’t have me when she was eight.

But I digress.

As I was saying, living here in Hoboken for as long as I have, it is inevitable  a love of Frank Sinatra developes. With that, then comes an appreciation of the Rat Pack. By the Rat Pack, I mean Dean Martin and Sammy Davis Jr. I consider Peter Lawford and Joey Bishop as the book-ends holding up the other three while drinking.

I was way too young to appreciate the “The Dean Martin Celebrity Roast” when they originally aired. I found this clip of Peter Falk, as my favorite fictional detective, Columbo, roasting Frank Sinatra. The thing to watch is Peter Falk never breaks character. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

UPDATE: After looking at this post a zillion times, I finally noticed an F missing in the title. It is now fixed but not after a few “F’s” being said.

This entry was posted in humor, politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

